Yesterday in “Experts”: Because I just can’t let it go

19 08 2010

by AngryPanda

Yesterday I wrote about an entry on Wired that was basically trying to explain that Apps have replaced web-browsers based on the fact the authors want to suck Steve Job’s cock. Or something like that. Did I really have to link this? The post is just below this one. Ah well, habit is powerful force.

Anyway, it seems I’m not the only one who thought that thing is a bit suspicious. And unlike me the people on boingboing didn’t rely on scepticism and insults but instead dug up some facts. I’m not sure why, it seems like a lot of work to me. What they did was take a closer look at their graph and the data behind it. I didn’t even consider the thing as I usually assume that graphs are fixed so they say what the creator wants. And I was right. They had this:

Step1 in making your point: confusing graphs that have a large chunk named "other".

According to this graph the proportional use of browsers has gone down. And in that it is right. However it is not considering the general growth of the internet in the last ten years. The fact is that browser use has gone UP. It is just that the use of other services has gone up even more. Mostly because half of them didn’t even exist or work on the current level. Factoring all that the graph should look like this:

Yes, every service is used more and of course the ones that were previously small have much larger increases. Seems obvious.

So what’s left to say? I’ll go for “Wow that’s pathetic”. And I’m still not over the fact that they described basic web use like Faceook and Twitter as Apps. I wonder how they show in that graph by the way.

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 08 2010
Today in”Experts”: Mac-fanboys and the web « This would be more awesome with lasers

[…] entry was posted on August 18, 2010. It was filed under AngryPanda, Rants, The Intertubes. → […]

22 10 2010
Mac Attack « This would be more awesome with lasers

[…] makes them money. What I don’t understand are their fans of who I might have made fun once or twice. Ok, ok I admit it. It was even more often. But hey I found this about Mac in general so I thought […]

Leave a Reply

