Action girls

23 12 2010

by AngryPanda

I think something is wrong with me. I’m a straight guy and I like girls. You’d think that is normal but clearly it isn’t. Straight guys obviously like sweaty men. But I don’t like this:

Sorry not my type of hot blond

Looking at popular culture it is quite obvious that I should. This should be my favorite action star. This can of course change with my taste. If I like comics I can like THIS. If I like games I can like THIS. In the end this leads me to only one conclusion. Straight guys like men. Of course there’s a an explanation for this. There are also people qualified to explain it but I’m not one of them. The short version is that these people project. They project themselves into the role. They want to see the guy they want to be. And I think there’s the difference. I don’t do that. Not in books, not in games and not in movies. I simply watch a protagonist and I prefer watching female ones. And just in case you might think something positive about me now, no it is not because I think more highly about women. A female action star is just as unrealistic as a male one. Or it better be because reality sucks. And yes I like them good-looking. This isn’t about sounding all moral superior this is just my taste, nothing more and that’s how it is. So I prefer my entertainment like this:

 

I think I prefered her in the series but still this picture is just badass.

And I comics I prefer them liks THIS. Videogames are a little harder because it gets hard to find one that isn’t so over sexed as to break that suspension of disbelief. Still THIS works for me. Sadly if you like this you are pretty much fucked in our entertainment industry. As I said, most men like other men, most women prefer other genres than action (yes this is a generalization. It is also true, piss off). It is actually pretty easy to make a good female protagonist for an action story. Just make it some hot chick and do everything else just the same. But that almost never happens. The moment the protagonist is female they get obsessed with having to adapt tp that. This usually ends in either oversexing her to completely stupid levels, or to try to make them real and believable, usually meaning they stick a kid on her. I could go on about this for hours and in I will but not here. I will split this up into a post about books, comics, series, games and movies although the last two will hurt me because they are the worst offenders. This will be an interesting series because I will both complain about silly clichés and praise others. As I said this is not about people, it is about the way I like my entertainment dressed up.

Dressed up will actually play a major part in this. I love a good outfit and a major point in if a female protagonist works for me is her outfit. And once more that doesn’t mean it can’t be sexy, in fact I like at least some of that. But they usually don’t just cross the line. They crash through it, set it on fire and then move on, trails blazing as if they had to cross the old west.

Actions

Information

6 responses

2 02 2011
Battle Angel Alita « This would be more awesome with lasers

[…] the first time I got a genuine reason to want to live that long. Alita hits all the right notes. Female action star, machines, martial arts, exciting world. It is just tailor-made for my tastes. I have no idea how […]

18 05 2011
Hawkeye the Movie « This would be more awesome with lasers

[…] and she had to because she is not getting her own movie. First of all they have no idea how to do action girls in Hollywood. Be glad they if they don’t try because it would suck harder than a Roomba on […]

21 11 2011
Beyond good & evil? « This would be more awesome with lasers

[…] looks both adorable and awesome. It is sci-fi, with a female hero and a comic book style. I got to love it. This is what video games should be in my book. Fuck […]

20 01 2012
I want to watch Haywire « This would be more awesome with lasers

[…] I would explain why I want to see this movie. But I already did.  […]

8 02 2012
Ten thoughts: Underworld Awakening « This would be more awesome with lasers

[…] in this series but I genuinely like him. And while I’m the last person to complain that the main star of the series is Selene it would have been nice to give Micheal at least a token moment of glory. I kept expecting him to […]

8 02 2012
Ten thoughts: Underworld Awakening « This would be more awesome with lasers

[…] in this series but I genuinely like him. And while I’m the last person to complain that the main star of the series is Selene it would have been nice to give Micheal at least a token moment of glory. I kept expecting him to […]

Leave a Reply

