Battle Angel Alita

2 02 2011

by AngryPanda

Battle Angel Alita is an absolutely fantastic manga series with a pretty decent anime adaption that covers the first book or so. Despite all the robotics it is less cyberpunk and more end times but the setting works amazingly well. And that’s all the review you get because that’s not what this entry is about.

Sidenote: Alita Last Order has gorgeous covers and is not just worse than the original it feels like a completely different series and it really annoys the hell out of me. Especially since I can’t stop reading despite the fact that I should know better…

In the entry Luxury Sadness I “complained” that Cameron has decided to make two more Avatar movies instead of a Battle Angel Alita flick like he planned ten years ago. And then I stumbled over this:

Collider:  Hey, is Battle Angel still happening?

Cameron: I’m obviously going to be pretty busy for the next five years [with Avatar 2 and 3]. And so I had to consider, do I hand this project off to another director? And then I thought, ‘No, I love it too much.’”

I’m not a big fan of Manga but I read all of those books. My favorite was the love story in part two and the death games in the 3rd and 4th. Which of the stories are you going to do?

Cameron: It’s such a rich world. What I’m going to do is take the spine story and use elements from the first four books. So, the Motorball from books three and four, and parts of the story of one and two will all be in the movie.

So not only does he plan to make it happen, he’s going to use the best parts of the setting and story for it. I love the bounty hunters but I’m thrilled to see the motorball included too. Especially since this looks like Cameron likes exactly the same parts I do. I think I’m starting to love this guy. Motorball somehow manages to look fast even on the pages of the manga, it has to look incredibly amazing in a movie if done right. Now with Avatar 2 and 3 happening around 2014 this means I have to be excited a really long time and I usually don’t worry about anything that’s not happening for another year (which is one the reasons I don’t fret about the Old Republic like very other MMO playing twat out there yet). But the mix of Alita and Cameron just has it. If I had to guess this could take till around 2020 to happen and god knows that’s the first time I got a genuine reason to want to live that long. Alita hits all the right notes. Female action star, machines, martial arts, exciting world. It is just tailor-made for my tastes. I have no idea how it works for others but I’m damn glad it works for this one guy. So Mr Caemron, please make that movie!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

